Where to Buy the Coolest Stuff for Less Moolah

I’m an avid shopper much to my husband’s dismay.  As our CFO, he literally cringes when I arrive back home with bags in tow.  He even does the grocery shopping.  So, on a limited budget with unique and high-end tastes, I am tasked to outfit a family, play Santa, and embellish.  I have found the best deals at local boutiques these days.  Prices can be competitive with mass-market retailers depending on the item – and, it makes me feel good to help out independents.  Also, boutiques carry more unique selections, typically.  Some of my favorites include:

  • Anklebiters – Marietta/East Cobb – The most awesome little toy, book, clothing store!  Very small but packed with the best of the best (better and cheaper) than Learning Express, etc.  The one caveat is their focus is ages newborn to age 6 or 7.  But so much to buy for the younger set!  My son will be getting a very cool wooden pirate ship from Anklebiters.  How to save more?  Have a store party!  I recently threw one at the store for a few of my girls (10-15 is ideal).  Each of my guests (+ me) received a sizeable discount on our entire purchases; AND, I received a store credit for a percentage of the purchase total from our evening – booyeah!  Santa saved some cash!  No website yet.
  • Punctuation! -Downtown Woodstock – Fabulous!!  Rings, necklaces, Rings!, all kinds of accessories that are beautiful (stone, crystals) and well priced (most necklaces $30 and less, rings $10+, plus they offer specials!).  The clothes are equally great & well priced – think Sage Boutique but with designer jeans.  Also, the coolest decor (old house) and very friendly owner and stuff.  A must visit!  Find Punctuation’s Fan Page on Facebook.
  • Honey Bee Toys – Hickory Flat / Canton – Going Out of Business – deals galore!   Deals start the week of Dec. 20, I believe.
  • Foxtales Books Downtown Woodstock – A “Book-tique”!  Their focus is independent, sometimes local authors, used books, wonderful kids books and accessories, and boutique feel.  Save with their Foxtales 10% off card!

Notice most of the above are kid-related.  I do get to shop a wee bit for myself – mostly, at TJMaxx (which my son thinks is a toy store!).  Next up:  Where to take the kiddos…for Free…or very little cost!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

