The Egg… A Symbol of Life

Sam I am down with the program
Green eggs and ham Yosemite Sam….

Upon deciding to become a vegetarian, I pined my fondness of eggs.  My 3-yr-old son loves eggs…every day (that’s not recommended for a healthy diet, though).  Eggs have been a major part of our diet for years; and, despite all of the ethical reasons not to, eggs are wonderfully tasty, healthy in moderation (especially with added Vitamin E or Omega, such as Eggland’s).  I learned that I could continue to be an herbivore and still enjoy the occasional egg…without feeling too terrible (IF those eggs are cage-free and organic!  Trader Joes has good, affordable options, too).  I can be a lacto-ovo-vegetarian (eats dairy and eggs but no animal flesh)….and even a “Pescatarian” (eats fish!).  Yeah!!   For a Gemini who doesn’t see black/white but only shades of gray, flexibility is vital to sanity.  So, I suppose I’m still in the realm of “flirting”, but changing your lifestyle certainly takes time and committment. 

As for my family, husband and I are working on a compromise (although, he appears to be unconsciously rebelling by buying more and more red meats!!  Arrghh!!) – we will adapt our meals to allow flexibility for herbivores and carnivores (he makes his own protein if he prefers).  We’re also introducing our kids to dairy replacements, such as almond milk (which they seem to like).  They’ve been drinking small amounts of soy milk already.

In celebration of my love of eggs, let’s wax philosophical with more Beastie Boys’ wisdom: 

You made the mistake you judge a man by his race
You go through life with egg on your face
You woke up in the morning with a peculiar feeling
You looked up and saw egg dripping from the ceiling
Families puck rocks the businessman
I’ll dog anybody with an egg in my hand
Not like the crack that you put in a pipe
But crack on your forehead here’s a towel now wipe

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

